## Alfred University inducts 16 into Phi Kappa Phi honor society 4/10/18



ALFRED, NY -- One graduate student and fifteen undergraduates were inducted recently into the Alfred University chapter of the honor society Phi Kappa Phi.

Chapter President Stephen Crandall, dean of libraries and director of Herrick Library, presided over the April 3 induction ceremony. He was assisted by Chapter Vice President Dr. Alexis Clare, professor of glass science in the New York State College of Ceramics.

The lone graduate student inducted was Kassandra McCarn of Gouverneur, NY.

Undergraduate students inducted from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences were: seniors Logan E. Gee of Dansville, NY, Taylor Jaczko of New Windsor, NY, and Meghan E. Rahner of Homer, NY; and juniors Rachel Schweiger of Barton, NY and Kristen E. Williams of Hornell, NY.

Inducted from the College of Professional Studies was senior Ayden E. O&Brien of Bath, NY.

Inducted from the School of Art and Design was junior Mary-Hall Keyes of Devon, PA.

Inducted from the Inamori School of Engineering were seniors John Becht of Buffalo and Nurila Kambar of Almaty, Kazakhstan; and juniors Mason Battaglia of Brockport, NY, Richard Berger of New Paltz, NY, James T. Eddlestone of Ithaca, NY, Chuen Kwok of Kowloon, China, Abigail Y. Pierce of Syracuse, and Randy A. Saffir of Highland, NY.

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and promotes academic excellence in all fields of higher education. The Greek letters of Phi Kappa Phi stand for the society&s motto, "Philosophia Krateito Photon," which is freely translated, "Let the Love of Wisdom Rule Humanity." The Alfred University chapter was established in 1970.

The April 3 induction ceremony, the 49th annual at Alfred University, was held in the Herrick Library Bookend Lounge and honored the academic accomplishments of the newly-inducted members.

Shown in the above photo (from left) are: Nurila Kambar, Kristen Williams, Mason Battaglia, Logan Gee, Ayden O&Brien, Rachael Schweiger, Abigail Pierce, and Meghan Rahner. Missing from the photo are: Kassandra McCarn,

Taylor Jaczko, Mary-Hall Keyes, John Becht, Richard Berger, James Eddlestone, Chuen Kwok, and Randy Saffir.