## Alfred University honors its faculty for excellence in teaching

4/14/03

Dr. Vasantha Amarakoon, professor of ceramic engineering and director of the New York State Center for Advanced Ceramic Technology at Alfred University, won not one, but two, excellence in teaching awards, presented during Alfred University's annual Honors Convocation. Amarakoon was one of two professors of ceramic engineering to share the highest teaching award bestowed by the School of Ceramic Engineering at Alfred University. Amarakoon and Dr. Linda Jones, professor of ceramic engineering, received this year's John F. McMahon Excellence in Teaching Awards, presented in memory of McMahon, a former dean and professor at the school. Amarakoon was also the recipient of a Joseph Kruson Trust Fund Award for Excellence in Teaching. The Independent College Fund of New York/New York State Electric and Gas Teaching Excellence Award was presented to Edward Wadin, director of bands and instructor of music in the Division of Performing Arts. Winners of the award are chosen by a vote of the juniors and seniors, as well as the faculty. Recipients of the Ruth Berger Rubenstein Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching were Dr. Diana Sinton, assistant professor of geography, and Dr. Gail Walker, professor of psychology. Receiving Joseph Kruson Trust Fund Awards for Excellence in Teaching in addition to Amarakoon were: Dr. Wesley Bentz, professor of chemistry; Diane Cox, professor of sculpture; Anne Currier, professor of ceramic art; Dr. Elizabeth Dill, assistant professor of English; Dr. M. Claret Mapalad-Ruane, assistant professor of business; Dr. Joseph Rosiczkowski, professor of mechanical engineering; Nicholas Tobier, assistant professor of foundation, School of Art and Design; and Dr. Fiona Tolhurt, assistant professor of English. Dr. James Varner, professor of ceramic engineering, received the Joseph Kruson Faculty Award for Distinguished Service to Alfred University and was named a Kruson Distinguished Professor.Roger Freeman, professor of photography, and Fred Tschida, professor of sculpture, both in the School of Art and Design, were honored for 25 years' service to the University. Recognized as recipients of State University of New York Chancellor's Awards for Excellence were E. Jessie Shefrin, professor of integrated electronic arts, excellence in teaching, and Dr. L. David Pye, professor of glass science, excellence in scholarship and creative activities.