## **AU Chemistry Professor Finds the Right Formula for Teaching** 5/10/00

Alfred, NY -- Dr. Garrett McGowan, assistant professor of chemistry in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Alfred University, has found the right formula for teaching. He is Alfred University's recipient of this year's Independent College Fund of New York Teaching Excellence Award. McGowan was selected for the honor, which includes a \$1,000 prize donated by New York State Gas and Electric Corporation, by a vote of junior and senior students and the AU faculty. A member of the Alfred University faculty since 1997, McGowan received his B.S. degree in 1987 from the University of Maine and earned a Ph.D. degree in 1994 from the University of Vermont. He was a post-doctoral research fellow at Ohio State University from 1993-96, and a post-doctoral teaching fellow at the University of Louisville in 1996-97. A member of the American Chemical Society, McGowan has taught general chemistry, quantitative analysis, instrumental analysis and consumer chemistry. The John F. McMahon Ceramic Teaching Excellence Award was presented to Dr. Vasantha Amarakoon, professor of ceramic engineering in the School of Ceramic Engineering and Materials Science and director of the New York State Center for Advanced Ceramic Technology at Alfred. Recipient of the Ruth Berger Rubenstein Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching was Dr. Linda E. Jones, associate professor of ceramic engineering in the School of Ceramic Engineering and Materials Science. Dr. Karen Porter, professor of sociology in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and former director of the Women's Studies Program, received the Abigail Allen Award, presented annually to a faculty member and an alumna for their "contributions in the spirit of Abigail Allen to the women of Alfred University." Allen, wife of AU President Jonathan Allen, dedicated her life to advancing women in higher education. Porter was selected for her "dedication and support of the Women's Studies Program during her term as director." While she has now turned the directorship over to Professor Susan Morehouse, "she remains active and is immeasurably helpful to faculty and students in the program." She also received a Joseph Kruson Trust Award for Excellence in Teaching. Other winners of the Joseph Kruson Trust Fund Awards for Excellence in Teaching were: Frank G. Duserick, professor of management information systems, College of Business. Andrew Deutsch, visiting assistant professor of video arts, School of Art and Design. Tim A. Doud, visiting assistant professor, School of Art and Design. Dr. Joe Gow, associate professor of mass media, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Susan Perry Morehouse, associate professor of English, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Dr. Henry Nebel, professor of physics, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Dr. Fiona Tolhurt, assistant professor of English, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Dr. Wallace Leigh, associate professor of electrical engineering, College of Engineering and Professional Studies.