President names members of provost search committee

11/18/05

Alfred University President Charles M. Edmondson has named the members of the Provost search committee. They will seek a successor to Dr. David Szczerbacki who resigned in July 2004 as vice president for academic affairs and provost. Dr. William Hall, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, has been serving in the position on an interim basis. Search committee members include:Faculty (elected by the Faculty Senate): Dr. Wes Bentz, professor of chemistry; Dr. William Carty, professor of ceramic engineering; Diane Cox, associate professor of sculpture; Dr. Nancy Evangelista, associate professor of school psychology; Gary Roberts, director of information technology services; and Dr. Frances Viggiani, associate professor of management. Administrative and Technical Specialists: Theresa Gunn, assistant controller, and Nadine Shardlow, director of opportunity programs. Support Staff: Barbara Timbrook, secretary to the dean of the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences. A chair will be named later.