Abigail Allen Award presented, faculty and students cited at Alfred University Honors Convocation 4/26/19



ALFRED, NY – Laurie Lounsberry McFadden, interim dean of libraries at Alfred University and an alumna of the University, received the prestigious Abigail Allen Award during the annual Honors Convocation Friday afternoon in Miller Theater.

Several faculty members were also recognized during Honors Convocation. Louis Lichtman, professor of psychology, was designated Kruson Distinguished Professor and Timothy Keenan, assistant professor of biomaterials engineering was presented with the John F. McMahon Excellence in Ceramic Teaching Award.

Two faculty – Steve Pilgrim, professor of materials science and engineering, and Yiquan Wu, professor of ceramic engineering – along with Susan Kowalczyk, curator, research coordinator at the Alfred Ceramic Art Museum, were honored as recipients of the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence. In addition, 12 faculty members received Excellence in Teaching Awards.

Juliana Gray, professor of English and director of the University's Honors Program, addressed the gathering of honored students, faculty and staff, family and friends at Miller Theater.

"It was a very long winter in Alfred; it was hard to believe spring would ever come. Yet here we are," Gray said. "For many students here, this represents the end of their time at Alfred University. For the first-year students, it is just the start of their time here. What they all have in common is they challenged themselves and went beyond what was required of them and accomplished so much more."

Lounsberry McFadden, who earned a bachelor's degree in business administration from Alfred University in 1991 and a master's in library science from the University at Buffalo in 1993, has been archivist and librarian at Herrick Memorial Library since 1993.

She is an alumna of the Women's Studies Program, now the Women's and Gender Studies Program, and was director of that program from 2015-2018. During her term as director Lounsberry McFadden emphasized connection with students in the minor and oversaw six capstone projects in 2018.

In nominating Lounsberry McFadden for the award, Susan Mayberry, professor of English, said: "Having served as director of AU's Women's and Gender Studies program from 2015 to 2018, Laurie has made effective use of her leadership and academic skills as archivist and research librarian both to catalogue and promote AU's proud feminist past and to organize, technologically update, and move Women's Studies at Alfred University into the twenty-first century."

Added nominator Rob Reginio, associate professor of English: "Students, through Laurie's passionate attachment to the stories of women's lives woven through the archive, begin to see these archival materials as a treasure, as a gesture of hope that these valuable documents would find a steward who would make sure they remain in circulation as a valuable part of "radical" women's history at Alfred University. Laurie is just such a radical steward and, as such, deserves to be awarded the Abigail Allen Award."

Twelve faculty members received the Joseph Kruson Trust Fund Awards for Excellence in Teaching, with recipients chosen based on a student vote. Following are the 2019 winners: Steve Byrne, associate professor of counseling: Bradford Daly, assistant professor of school psychology: John D'Angelo, associate professor of chemistry; Whitney Hubbs, assistant professor of photography: Robert Irons, associate professor of finance; Kerry Kautzman, associate professor of Spanish; Mark Lewis, dean of the College of Business, William T. Tredennick Professor in Entrepreneurial Study; Amit Maha, assistant professor of mechanical engineering; Lydia McCarthy, associate professor or photography; Lynn Petrillo, senior lecturer, English; Holly Shulman, professor of ceramic engineering; and Heather Zimbler-DeLorenzo, associate professor of biology.

Keenan was presented with the John F. McMahon Ceramic Teaching Excellence Award. The award is presented yearly in honor of Dr. John F. McMahon in recognition of his many years of dedicated service to the University as both professor and dean.

Lichtman was presented the Joseph Kruson Faculty Award for Distinguished Service to Alfred University. This award is presented in recognition of long and dedicated service, commitment to academic quality, and the strong sense of humanity shown to students. The recipient has been venerated by Alfred University alumni and professionals beyond the Alfred community. He is widely respected by the campus community, which includes students who have judged him to be an outstanding teacher, faculty colleagues, and members of the administration.

Recipients of the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence were honored for faculty service (Pilgrim), professional service (Kowalczyk), and scholarship and creative activities (Wu).

Two students – Emma Hildebrandt and Allison Piedmonte – were recognized as recipients of awards from SUNY.

Hildebrandt, a senior painting major in the School of Art and Design, received a 2019 Thayer Fellowship in the Arts. The Thayer Fellowship is awarded each year to an outstanding candidate for graduation from a SUNY institution, selected for talent, achievement, and potential as a professional artist. She is one of just three students from SUNY schools to be chosen as a 2019 Thayer Fellowship recipient.

Piedmonte, a December 2018 graduate who earned a B.F.A. degree (concentration in sculpture/dimensional studies), is a recipient of the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence, the highest honor bestowed upon undergraduate students within the State University of New York system. Just 210 students (out of approximately 424,000) from 64 SUNY campuses received a 2019 SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence.

The 2019 Marlin Miller Outstanding Senior award recipients – Nurila Kambar and Dillon Smith – were recognized at the Honors Convocation ceremony. Kambar, a materials science and engineering major (physics minor) from Almaty, Kazakhstan, and Smith, a double major in criminal justice and experimental psychology from Pine Bush, NY, will also be honored at Alfred University's commencement ceremony on May 18, where they will address the graduating class, faculty, administration, trustees, and guests.

Winners of the Marlin Miller Outstanding Senior Award are chosen on the basis of scholarship, extracurricular achievement, personal character and conduct and nominated by faculty, students and staff. The award was established to honor Alfred University alumnus Marlin Miller '54, one of Alfred University's most generous supporters. Miller has been a member of Alfred University's Board of Trustees since 1972.