## Alfred University holds annual football awards banquet 12/08/01

ALFRED The Alfred University held its annual football banquet Friday, Dec. 7, and announced the team's post-season award recipients. More than 220 people, many of them parents, attended the banquet at Ade Hall to honor the Saxons. Senior defensive tackle Todd Strong (Deposit/Deposit) was named team Most Valuable Player. Strong led the AU defense with 75 tackles, including a team-high 12 for losses and four quarterback sacks. Junior tailback Jesse Raynor (Weedsport/Weedsport) was given the Hal Brown Award as offensive MVP. Raynor rushed for 1,235 yards (tops in Upstate New York) and scored 13 touchdowns. He tied the school single-season record for games with at least 100 yards rushing (seven), matched his own single-game mark for touchdowns with five and set a new school singleseason record for average yards rushing per game (137.2). Junior linebacker Colin Murphy (Manchester, NH/Central) received the Alex Yunevich Award as defensive MVP. Murphy was fourth on the team in tackles with 56, including four for losses, and had two interceptions and a forced fumble. Other award-winners were: Special Teams MVP: Senior quarterback-punter Todd Zandrowicz (East Aurora/East Aurora). Pete DeRose Memorial Award: Given to an outstanding defensive back. Sophomore cornerback Vinnie Adamo (Fayetteville/Fayetteville-Manlius). Purple & Gold Awards: Given for outstanding team play. Offense: Junior quarterback Jeff Merryman (Philadelphia, PA/Holy Ghost). Defense: Freshman defensive back Chadd Bennett (Pittsfield/Maine Central). Fred Yanni Award: Given to a freshman who displays a high level of enthusiasm for the game. Quarterback Ron Duliba (Forestville/Forestville). Bob Carley Memorial Award: Given to the "unsung hero," a player who demonstrates leadership through an outstanding work ethic. Senior offensive tackle Dan Herrling (Weedsport/Weedsport). Saxon Club Awards: Given to turn in outstanding performances in at least seven games during the season .Strong, Zandrowicz and Raynor.Gene Castrovillo Award: Given to a player who shows great courage and determination to overcome injury (presented by the athletic training department). Raynor.