Eighteen Alfred University students inducted into Phi Kappa Phi honor society 4/04/19



ALFRED, NY -- One senior and 17 juniors were inducted Tuesday, April 2, into the Alfred University chapter of the honor society Phi Kappa Phi.

Chapter President Stephen Crandall, dean emeritus of libraries at Alfred University, presided over the induction ceremony. He was assisted by Chapter Treasurer Brian Sullivan, interim director of Alfred University Libraries.

The lone graduate student inducted was Zachary Goodwin of Holden, MA, from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Juniors inducted from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences were Gabrielle A. Griffin of Sterling, NY; Charles A. McAllister, Jr. of Winnemucca, NV; Lyndsey McCoy of Middleburgh, NY; Amanda Meehan of Whitesville, NY; Holly A. Passetti of Nichols, NY; Aidan L. Saccucci-Bryan of Trumansburg, NY; and Benjamin M. Yonko of Webster, NY.

Inducted from the College of Business were juniors Megan Y. Alper of Belmont, NY, MA; Angelica L. Sudore of Fairport, NY; and Natalie J. Turco of Westerly, RI.

Inducted from the School of Art and Design were juniors Kayleah A. Aldrich of Akron, OH, and Lauren T. Germain of Manlius, NY.

Inducted from the School of Engineering were juniors Heidi D. Boettcher of Bewerton, NY; Samantha J. Kotze of Bethlehem, PA; Zachary L. Plesmid of Newbury, OH; Sarah M. Raeman of Canandaigua; and Nathaniel L. Skeele of Tyler, TX.

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and promotes academic excellence in all fields of higher education. The Greek letters of Phi Kappa Phi stand for the society's motto, "Philosophia Krateito Photon," which is freely translated, "Let the Love of Wisdom Rule Humanity."

The Alfred University chapter was established in 1970. In its 50th annual initiation ceremony, held in the Herrick Library Bookend Lounge, the chapter honored the academic accomplishments of its newly inducted members.

Pictured in the photo above are newly inducted members of the Alfred University chapter of Phi Kappa Phi: (front from left) Kayleah Aldrich, Megan Alper, Heidi Boettcher, Lauren Germain, Zachary Plesmid; and (back from left) Samantha Kotze, Lyndsey McCoy, Holly Passetti, Sarah Raeman, Aidan Saccucci-Bryan, Natalie Turco, Benjamin Yonko and Gabrielle Griffin. Missing from photo are Charles A. McAllister Jr., Amanda Meehan, Angelica Sudore, Nathaniel Skeele and Zachary Goodwin.